A day in the life: Digital Marketing Student


8 AM – My alarm goes off on my phone.

I normally spend and limit myself to ten minutes in bed to check social media and wake myself up a bit before getting out of bed.

8:10 –  The first thing I do is go to the bathroom to brush my teeth, wash my face, brush my hair and put in my contact lenses

8:15 – Now’s the time to make myself look more awake then I feel! I normally straighten my hair and don’t do anything special with my makeup as I don’t have time so a simple winged eyeliner look with some kind of daring lipstick is my go to.

8:40 –  I would love to be one of those people who organises their outfit the night before but English weather can be so unpredictable so I always pick my outfit in the morning – my typical uni day outfit is smart casual. I usually wear a nice blouse, jeans and some boots.

8:50 – Time to make breakfast. My typical breakfast is Rachel’s Lemon Yogurt, Waitrose granola and some berries. This is a healthy breakfast that keeps me going throughout the day – I also have some coffee with this of course!

“First I drink coffee and then I do things”

9:00 – I now normally spend 40 minutes watching YouTube, eating my breakfast and drinking my coffee before making my way to my university building for a lecture or presentation to my fellow classmates and occasionally important brands/companies

 – Time for University. My morning can consist of either a lecture with one of my lecturers or prepping for a presentation in the afternoon.

Currently, my typical morning would consist of researching into a report that’s due soon and prepping for my weekly presentation to my fellow class mates and Red Bee Media.

12:30 PM – Lunch time. Normally I’ve made my lunch at home the night or morning before in order to save money and make sure that I have a healthy lunch.

I get an hour for lunch where I normally eat my lunch and hang out with my fellow classmates and we discuss how the morning has gone.

13:30 – Back to work. In the afternoon I will either have another lecture, presentation or work on my latest report that is due in.

17:00 – Time to head home.

I normally have half an hour to fourth five minutes where I lay on my bed and check my phone and have a snack of some kind before I head off to the gym for a workout

17:50 – My gym is about a ten-minute walk away and I normally workout for around an hour before heading home to cook dinner.

19:00 – Time to cook dinner. I’m a pescetarian meaning that I don’t eat meat and only fish. Head over to my what I eat in a day to see the typical meals of a pescetarian – I try my best to eat a healthy and balanced meal.

I’ll normally take my food back to my room and eat it whilst watching a Netflix show of some kind and if not I’ll sit down and eat it with my flatmates whilst watching TV.

20:00 – I’ve normally eaten my dinner now and watched an episode or two or a Netflix show. I will now probably grab some kind of sweet treat to nibble on whilst I watch some more Netflix shows for the next two hours and a half.

22:30 – Now is the time I will start to settle down and get ready for bed.

I’ll take a shower, brush my teeth, put on some skincare, get changed into my pyjamas and scroll on my phone for a little bit.

I really hope you enjoyed this blog post.

It was something a little bit different for me but I thought it would be nice to show you an insight into what it’s like to study digital marketing and/or be a uni student. 

See you guys soon with a completely new look! I can’t wait! 

– Lauren, XO

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *